What’s That You Say?

I was thinking about my Mom yesterday and some of her crazy sayings. My mom had more sayings than Carter had liver pills. In fact she had more than you could shake a stick at! Lol. Suffice to say she had a bunch. Some she made up, but many of the sayings she used were probably as old as the hills.

It’s funny when I think about it, because although she died 13 years ago, when we her children and grandchildren get together we still laugh about it as we use many of those sayings and remember her. They have become part of our family history. Things that we say without even thinking about it.

Then I thought about some of the other types of sayings we all use, or have used probably during our lives. Things we also may say without even thinking. Just harmless sayings we may think. But are they?

What are we really doing when we say things like my feet (or any other body part) are killing me, or it, or you, or she or this situation is making me crazy.  Or any number of variations on that theme. What about when we make statements like oh, I get the flu every year and I know I’ll get it again this year. Or, all the men in my family died by such and such and age so I’m sure I will too. Our words have creative power. Are those the things we want to create?

Do you find yourself sometimes using sayings that were said to you as a child? Things that perhaps fostered a poverty mindset or a mindset of lack? Sayings like, money doesn’t grow on trees. Or, what, do you think we’re made of money? Our words are seeds. What kind of things would grow from seeds like that planted in a child? Not ones we would like to plant I think. 

Just look at the work we are saving the enemy if we are cursing ourselves and others with our words. He can just sit back and laugh and watch as we get what we speak. Just listen sometimes to the things people say without a thought in the world as to the power of their words.

We laugh and we joke about sayings and meme’s we see on Facebook about aging or relationships or any number of things. By laughing and saying to one another, that’s so true, are we coming into agreement with those things for our own lives? Before we pass it along do we think, is this something we really want to be true for our lives or our friends lives? 

So many verses in the Bible warn us about our words. Matthew 12:36 says “ But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment.” Or Colossians 3:8 ” But now you yourselves are to put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth.” Something to think about. We may not always think much about the way we speak but it is important to the Lord. 

What about the words we use to speak about others? The things that we may call the driver that cut in front of us in traffic, or the things we say about politicians or people in the public eye with whom we disagree? Just because they aren’t there does that give us the right to say what we want about them? Will we want to give an account of those words one day?

What about when we hear parents say things to their children like, you’re a slob or you’ll never amount to much. You’re going to end up in jail one day. He/she is just like their father/mother (and not in a good way). What kind of seeds are being planted in those situations? Then when these children get older and become what was spoken over them the parents wonder what could have happened to cause such a thing. 

No wonder James had this to say about the tongue, “But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.  With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God.  Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.” James 3:8-10.

I was reading someone else’s blog recently about words. He said he was in his car one day and someone near him almost caused an accident. He was alone in the car and called the person an idiot. He figured it was no big deal as no one was there to hear him. But the Lord did. He said immediately he felt the Lord say to him in his spirit “I have created no one—no human being—by that description”. Yikes.

How easily we sometimes make those offhand comments about another person. We forget that the Lord created them also and He loves them. When I think of the things I may have said about others in the past it makes me cringe. I’m so thankful that when we do say something we realize we shouldn’t have, we can go to the Lord and repent and He will forgive us.

He can also help us in our battle to watch what we say. We can ask Him daily to do what Psalm 141:3 says. “Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.” Or Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

I have also found it helpful to give my family and close friends permission to point out to me anytime I am speaking a curse over my life or over anyone else. To be held accountable. 

The Lord warns us so many times about our words because He knows what can come of us speaking things we shouldn’t. He wants us to be sowing good with the words of our mouths so we can blessed. Proverbs 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.”

We have the choice of what to speak. May we learn to think before we speak and speak only that which is good and true. Its tough sometimes I know. After all, old habits die hard. For those who may say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, the good news is, that only applies to dogs! 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What’s That You Say?

  1. Words can bring life or death to friendships, relationships and family life… we may lose some things over our usage of words and that is really unfortunate but to lose friends and family is devastating.. Great blog and I think if we are honest we all would have to repent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

