The Only Thing To Fear…

Is fear itself.  That quote spoken by Franklin D. Roosevelt can be so true! Fear is our enemy and the moment we give it any place in our lives, or give in to it even just a little, the effects can be almost immediate. That line was the only one that I had ever heard from that speech.  Added with the rest of it below it really makes the point.  Unreasoning, unjustified terror.  I’m sure most of us have had that at one point or another to some degree.  I know I have. Have you?

160241-Franklin-D-Roosevelt-Quote-First-of-all-let-me-assert-my-firm.jpg

We know where fear comes from. And we know its not from the Lord.  When we read 2 Timothy 1:7, Amplified version, we see that the Lord has given us quite the opposite of fear.  “ For God did not give us a spirit of timidity or cowardice or fear, but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of sound judgment and personal discipline [abilities that result in a calm, well-balanced mind and self-control].”  

If we were to sit and count all the scriptures in the Bible dealing with fear it would easily be over 100. The whole gamut from fear itself, to fear not, be not afraid, be strong and of good courage, to let not your heart be troubled.  That’s quite a lot of admonitions telling us to not give place to fear. 

It would be nice to think that fear can’t bother us anymore wouldn’t it?  Maybe for some of you that would be true.  I’m sorry to say that that is not always true for me.  

The other day I posted a blog where I talked about not believing the lies of the enemy, using the sword of the Spirit and not getting distracted by the plots and plans of the enemy. It was good advice right? Hmm. Perhaps I should have practiced that more.

I had three situations come up in the space of an hour the other day.  Three opportunities to give in to fear. These were all family situations. Many of you know how that can be. That can be the button the enemy uses the most to throw us off.  Do you sometimes find it’s easier to stand in faith, not letting fear in, when you are doing it for someone else, or for a big situation like trusting the Lord with our country? I know I do. So when this happened, without thinking, I opened the door to fear, and within no time I had lost my joy, lost my peace and found myself getting all upset. Although, I have to say, at least this time I did keep my mouth shut, and didn’t make it worse by talking about it! Sometimes the worst thing we can do when we are in that place, is to call up a bunch of friends just to rehearse our fears.  

The sad thing was, nothing had even happened in any of those situations. I was just thinking about what “could happen”.  It was like FDR said.  Unreasoning, unjustified terror. And I fell for it. Hook, line, and sinker.

As I was thinking this morning about how I had been distracted, the picture that came to me was that of a matador. We can be just like that bull. He could easily take out those coming against him with one swish of his head. Instead, he’s distracted by that brightly colored cloth being waved in front of him. That’s what he’s looking at. He doesn’t see the big picture of what’s really going on. The same can be true with us when we are distracted by looking at the “what if’s”  or the “it might happen’s” instead of focusing on what’s really going on.  

When we take our eyes off of the distractions and put them on Jesus then we can easily win the battle against fear. As I looked at those issues the next morning, in the light of day I saw them differently. Fears.  False-evidence-appearing-real. Then I realized that what they really were was an opportunity to do what I should have done in the first place.  Pray, decree and believe.  Trust God.  

I love Psalm 34:4  “I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.” If we would just learn to seek Him first, before we give in to any fears, think of how much heartache we could save ourselves.  

I would guess that most days that we are on this earth we will have opportunities to either walk by faith or to give in to fear.  So then, the only question is, which will we choose?

3258434_orig

2 thoughts on “The Only Thing To Fear…

Leave a Reply

