Let The Redeemed Of The Lord Say So

Don’t you just love the sound of that word redeemed?  I have mentioned in previous posts how much music speaks to me. Today was no exception. I was driving home and the song “Redeemed” by Big Daddy Weave came on the radio.  The lyrics are so beautiful.

Here’s  a sample of the lyrics:

Because I don’t have to be the old man inside of me
‘Cause his day is long dead and gone
Because I’ve got a new name, a new life, I’m not the same
And a hope that will carry me home

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off these heavy chains
Wipe away every stain, ’cause I’m not who I used to be. I am redeemed, I’m redeemed

Wow!  That’s something to get excited about!  If Jesus is your Savior, you are not the person you used to be. You are a new creation. The Lord brings us from glory to glory. Step by step.

We may have times we get down on ourselves. We think of the all the things we think we are doing wrong.  Sometimes we, or at least I, think the Lord must get so tired of the way I keep making the same mistakes.  But then, if you think about it, or hear lyrics like this it brings back memories of how you used to be.  And you realize, I truly am not that person anymore.

We don’t have to “try and be good enough”. On our own we couldn’t possibly even come close.  Jesus already did everything for us that needed to be done. Gal 3:13  Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us (for it is written, “Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree”.  Romans 3:23-24 says  for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,  and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.

Jesus took the curse for us.  For me.  For you.  Though we may sometimes fail or fall short in the way we think we should be, or want to be; through Jesus and what He did, we are redeemed!  By grace.  Not by anything we could possibly do ourselves.

Oh what a gift!  It makes you want to shout and sing.  Thank You Lord! Hallelujah!  I am redeemed!

(PS.  Check out the song on Youtube.  If you like it I’m sure its available on Itunes!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

