Look Up

“I will lift up my eyes to the hills—From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord,Who made heaven and earth”. (Psalm 121:1-2).  I love the mountains.  Maybe you guessed that from the picture of the mountains.  Some people love for the beach.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the beach also, but, to me the mountains speak to my soul.  The mountains make me feel peaceful, and closer to God.  

mountain-landscape-beautiful-hd-wallpaper

I was blessed to live in the mountains for a few years-well maybe the foothills you might say.  The landscape was always changing with the weather and with the seasons.  I love the solitude you sometimes find, the quiet.  Living there had its challenges.  I wasn’t fond of driving on icy mountain roads for instance.  Or being far from some conveniences.  It’s a trade off.  But oh, the peace and stillness of a mountain morning. The quiet.  We have so little quiet in our lives these days.  In my mind, I don’t know how you could live in the mountains and not know God.  His presence surrounds you every day in His creation.

In the Bible, when you look up the word mountain and read the various scriptures; you find a lot of people living in the mountains, fleeing to the mountains and/or hiding in the mountains.  I guess you could hide from the world in the mountains to some extent.  Maybe that is part of its allure.  At least for me.  I sometimes long to be distant from all the turmoil in our world.

I often hope that there are mountains in heaven. Or, here on earth if the earth will still be here.  Its so comforting to me to read many scriptures in the Word that I love that are about mountains, such as Song of Solomon 2:8: “The voice of my beloved! Behold, he comes . Leaping upon the mountains,skipping upon the hills”.  That sure makes it sound like the Lord loves mountains too. Or, one of my personal favorites.  Different versions found in 2 Sam 22:34, Psalm 18:35 or the version in Habakkuk 3:19 :  “The Lord God is my strength; He will make my feet like deer’s feet, And He will make me walk on my high hills”.  Perhaps high hills is symbolic for something or someplace other than mountains; but I just like to think it is of being on high hills.

One of my favorite books of all time is Hind’s Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard. It is an allegory about the character Much Afraid, and her journey to the high places.  It is a beautiful story about her challenges and difficulties along the way. Through it all she has to depend on the Shepherd and trust him; even when it looks like she is going totally in the wrong direction.  Her journey is so much like ours.  Her many fears, her “relatives” who are named in the book, things like pride, bitterness and resentment and how she conquered them and changed along the way.  If you have never read it; I highly recommend it!  I haven’t read it in a while, I think I may have to read it again soon!

Its been fun taking this journey today of musing about the mountains. I think I sense a road trip in my future!   I will leave you with one last mountain scripture.

“For you shall go out with joy,
And be led out with peace;
The mountains and the hills
Shall break forth into singing before you,
And all the trees of the field shall clap their hands”.  Is 55:12.  Amen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

