Breathe, Just Breathe

I was at the sink washing some dishes listening to the song Breathe by Johnny Diaz.  As an aside, great song, speaks so much to many of our lives in these “busy” days.   To read the lyrics or hear the song; check it out on YouTube!  ANYWAY I was thinking how true it is. We are all so busy all the time running around trying to get things done.  I was in the grocery store this morning and I asked the young man cashing me out how he was. He said he was “trying to hang in there”.  When I asked why, he told me he was doing an 8 hour shift and was trying to pace himself; not run everywhere so he could have enough energy to get through the day.  How many can identify with that?

I was also thinking about a friends post I saw on Facebook this morning and a comment she made about how she was going to take time to enjoy doing what she loves.  Well, that made me think!  And, I confess, I was also thinking about a line from when I was watching Madame Secretary last night where one of her daughters told her sister you and Mom aren’t fun anymore.

Now, I don’t know about you. But I realized sometimes how little time I spend doing “fun” things and just enjoying life.  Why do we feel that we have to be busy all the time and if we aren’t we feel guilty? (I say we.  I mean me. But I know I’m not alone!)  We think, wow I should be getting more accomplished; or how can I be happy and joyful when so much is going on? I just don’t have time for that!  The Lord wants us to enjoy our lives.  John 10:10 Amp states: The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance [to the full, till it overflows].  That doesn’t sound like a ho hum never take a break kind of life to me!  I don’t want to look back one day and realize I never had the abundant life I was supposed to have.

Yes, we have to work, take care of our homes and kids, do chores, go to church, grocery shop and a hundred different other things. But most importantly we are made to take time to just be in God’s presence.  Just listen.  Sit. Breathe. He wants us to tell Him all about our lives, to tell him how much we love Him.  To spend time with Him because we want to not because we have to.    In Jeremiah 33:3 He says  ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’  And in John 16:13  However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.

How will we hear and know what He is trying to tell us if we are constantly on the go, and we never take the time to just sit in His presence and listen?  Here’s some good advice from the chorus of the song:

Breathe, just breathe
Come and rest at My feet
And be, just be
Chaos calls but all you really need
Is to just breathe

I know I’m taking some time each day to  do this. I had a friend challenge me to do that for 5 min a day.  Turn off the phone and just listen.  I figured I’d give it 15!  Give it a try;  let us know what happens!  It just might change your life! Placeholder Image

2 thoughts on “Breathe, Just Breathe

  1. Kate
    Breathe… Oh yes that’s what I need! To sit @ My Master’s feet. Kate so good, 15 min sounds so good, we try it and before we know it the things of the world are beckoning to us!
    So enjoying your blog, Kate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

