Has Your Love Grown Cold?

In Matt 24:10-12 Jesus said  10 And then many will be offended, will betray one another, and will hate one another. 11 Then many false prophets will rise up and deceive many. 12 And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold.  Well, but that can’t be us right?  I mean we are Christians and we love one another so He must be talking about someone else right? 

Let me ask you this.  How offended do you get when you read what people post on Facebook these days?  Especially about politics?  How have we come so far as a people that we feel its OK if someone doesn’t agree w/us to call them names or think less of them?  I’ve been guilty….just about every day.

We might not like to think that we can be in that group that gets offended and hates others.  I mean hate is a strong word right?  Just because what you read sometimes makes you want to punch someone in the face that can’t be too bad right?  After all you’re right and the other person is blinded.  Don’t get me wrong.  In many ways I really like Facebook.  We get to keep in touch w/friends and family that may be far away, share pictures etc.  But in many ways it just fuels this uncivil way of treating others.

In 1 Cor 13:4-7 it says Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  I don’t always see a lot of these traits online.  Sometimes you read a news story  then in the thread of comments afterwards its appalling the way people treat each other. We are no longer face to face but over a computer screen so its OK to say what we want.  I googled a question about canning tomatoes the other day.  One person gave their opinion then I followed the thread to see what others would say and some people were being ugly to each other because they didn’t agree about tomatoes. TOMATOES! 

My Pastor always says when you read  ( 1 Cor 13) put your name in where you see the word love.  Its a good checkup I think.  Do I suffer long and am I kind?  Do I behave rudely or seek my own?  If we are followers of Jesus and want to be like Him; these are the traits that we are supposed to be emulating. If we have not love we are nothing.  Love never fails.  I don’t know about you but it gives me a lot to work on.  So the next time you’re on Facebook or Twitter and your finger is poised above the share button; and you’re about to share an article, or fire off a terse reply, take a minute. Think about it before you do.  Are you sharing just to show others that your opinion is right?  Or is it helpful? Will it make a difference? If you can’t stand to look at what someone else posted or it makes you angry, do what I always do and hide it!  I think I will share more butterfly’s and kitties and stories about love.

Prayer is the only thing that will change things in this country.  Maybe we could do more of that and spend less time getting angry.

One thought on “Has Your Love Grown Cold?

Leave a Reply

