Who’s in charge?

You?  Or your emotions?  Ouch.  Many times I would have to say i lose that battle.  I’m  getting better.  Takes me less time (SOMETIMES!) to realize that I am falling for the plots of the enemy against me and  my joy.  Because you know he’s always watching for every little chance to get in your head.  I’ve decided I’m not going to rent out that space to that anymore!

Sometimes we think well I can’t help it I woke up in a bad mood this morning or this situation happened and I can’t be joyful till its over or a hundred different reasons why we are sad or angry or belligerent.  But we are in charge of ourselves.  The Bible says “come to me all you who are burdened and heavy laden and I will give you rest.  Matt 11:28.  And Cast all your anxiety on Him because he cares for you. 1 Pet 5:7.  And it tells us to Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thess 5:16-18.  So many scriptures I can’t put them all telling us to encourage ourselves in the Lord, count it all joy, let not your heart be troubled, fear not and don’t forget rejoice in the Lord always and again I say rejoice! Phil 4:4.  These are commands and things that we are well able to do we just need to remind ourselves of them when we are in that hard place.  

What are some of the things you do to get your thoughts back where they should be?  Read or meditate the Word is of course the best. Great songs and worship songs are always helpful to me.  Does anyone besides me think in song lyrics?  I mean given enough time I can come up with a song for any situation!  Of course you want to stick with Christian music or good clean music because otherwise you can sometimes be singing something and have another mess entirely going on in your head!  Or songs from kids shows, yikes sometimes they get in there and its hard to get rid of them! When my kids were teenagers and I was having a bad day I would blast John Denver or Randy Travis and sing it at the top of my lungs then I felt better!  These days I do listen at least part of every day to worship music or Christian radio.  In fact most mornings when I wake up a song is already playing in my head and its the first thing that comes to my mind.

Lately I have been listening a lot to Tell Your Heart to beat again by Danny Gokey.  This verse in particular I love: Beginning
Just let that word wash over you
It’s alright now
Love’s healing hands have pulled you through
So get back up, take step one
Leave the darkness, feel the sun
‘Cause your story’s far from over
And your journey’s just begun.

What I get out of that song is not that he’s telling his heart to literally beat again but that no matter where we are or how broken we may be feeling we can turn from that even if its only moment by moment and choose to be joyful and tell ourselves to bless the Lord oh my soul!  Ps 103 Bless the Lord, O my soul;
And all that is within me, bless His holy name!
Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget not all His benefits:
Who forgives all your iniquities,
Who heals all your diseases,
Who redeems your life from destruction,
Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies,
Who satisfies your mouth with good things,
So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Wow.  How can we be down for long when we think on all those benefits?  A great song to go along with that is 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman.  That one will have you joyful in no time.  I think that creating music must have given the Lord a lot of joy! And when people write songs and sing them to Him and about Him that must bless Him too.    The word sing is mentioned in the Bible 166 times and the word song 104.  That tells me its important.  Psalm 100:1-2 says: Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.  Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.  You don’t have to tell me twice to sing!  And just like that those negative thoughts I had been meditating on are gone and I’m back to thinking how good God is and how blessed I am.

Leave a Reply

